Facing autism with courage, and lots of heart

When I began writing this blog, to celebrate ordinary people who act with extraordinary courage, Lisa Ackerman was one of the first people I featured. My brother and sis-in-law know Lisa personally, and they will be the first to acknowledge that she will do just about anything to help others, and does this with incredible heart and energy (and yes, she does have a lot of energy!).  Lisa, and her son Mark, have navigated the world of autism with there own family, and are dedicated to making sure no family will face the diagnosis alone.

Since April is Autism Awareness month, I decided to dust off this blog entry and give it another run. I am also working to raise funds for Lisa’s organization since she has been such a big influence in my own nephew’s life.  Sooo…here’s the pitch (wait for it)… if you would like to help me by donating even $5 to help support TACA’s mission, I would truly do a happy dance!

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/deb-osfeld/TACACAMPAIGN2012

While Lisa’s efforts through TACA are an incredible act of courage, I feel every child with autism, along with their parents, teach me more about courage than any hero I will ever know. Their strength and determination to move through this world with love, dignity and compassion make my heart thankful to know them all.

Always, love always, Deb

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

original post 9/25/2011

Lisa and Glen Ackerman are great examples of courage to me.

They may not think of themselves this way, but I’m sure I can find thousands of parents who would agree with me.  Finding themselves faced with the fact that their young son had been diagnosed with autism, they not only sought out information on ways to help their family, but they took the suggestion of their daughter to open their home to other families going through the same new world of confusing and often isolating medical diagnosis.

What started as a small group of parents in Lisa and Glen’s living room blossomed into more and more families seeking answers, options and friendship from others merely months ahead of them on the journey. Over 10 years later, the sharing continues, but now reaches over 20,000 families nation-wide with support, information and fun activities.

Pretty good for a family with a “good idea”.  Sometimes courage is the willingness to help others, even as you find yourself in need.

Find out more about Lisa and Glen’s non-profit Talk About Curing Autism (TACA) at http://www.tacanow.org

This entry was posted in Making a Difference and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

