Courage to wear a pink tutu

It takes courage to be vulnerable. Cancer patients don’t have a choice. They are thrust into it.  Bob Carey, a photographer who loves to make his wife laugh, chose to share that vulnerability as his wife worked her way through a second round of cancer treatments. His method? A pink tutu.

Bob’s courage and love for his wife make me smile.

And what better way to get back at cancer than with laughter.

One man had a very good idea to help his wife and many more battle breast cancer and he did it all in a pink tutu. New York photographer, Bob Carey posed in a tutu as a joke for a fundraiser in 2003.  Soon after, his wife was diagnosed with cancer and he began the tutu project.  He’s taken more than 100 pics of himself sporting the pink tutu in various locations. He’s launched a website to sell the photos to get donations. Carey is also compiling the pics for a book called “Ballerina” which comes out this fall.

Visit Bob’s web site at: http://thetutuproject.com

In honor of my amazing mother-in-law Pat, who lost her battle with ovarian cancer last week. A loving, strong and courageous woman, whom I will always be grateful to have spent precious time with.

This entry was posted in Making a Difference, Stories that make a Difference and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Courage to wear a pink tutu

  1. Wonderful post and I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, Deb~we’ve lost many friends and family to cancer; it’s such a horrible disease…
    Lauren

  2. Thank you Lauren… it sure makes me appreciate the people in my life more. Some are gone, but never forgotten.

  3. ansuyo says:

    Love it. Sorry about your mother- in- law, my mom passed with that. I hate cancer, but we might as well laugh 🙂

  4. Marianne says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss Deb. I recently lost my best friend and my dad to cancer – it’s such an evil disease. Thank you for posting about the Tutu Project (and putting a smile on my face) – so brilliant.

Leave a Reply

